Tenets of Samkhya

Jaldhar H. Vyas jaldhar at BRAINCELLS.COM
Tue Aug 13 00:18:00 CDT 2002

On Wed, 7 Aug 2002, Srikrishna Ghadiyaram wrote:

> Does it mean according to Yoga there are three
> entities:
> Prakriti, purusha, and Iswara ?

It would seem so.  In his book "Yoga Philosophy of Patanjali" (which is an
English translation and exposition of the Yogasutras and Vyasabhashya)
Swami Hariharananda Aranya gives the following outline of Samkhya/Yoga.
Particularly 10-12 might be of interest.

1.  Moksha or liberation consists in the complete and permanent cessation
of all sufferings.

2.  In the state of Moksha (i.e. on attainment of liberation) one abides
in ones' immutable and attributeless Self which is Purusha.

3.  In the state of Moksha the mind (Chitta) goes back to its' original
cause, Prakrti.

4.  Cessation of the mind (Chitta) can be brought about by renunciation
and supreme knowledge aquired through Samadhi.

5.  Samadhi is attainable by observance of the prescribed codes of conduct
and practice of meditation, concentration etc.

6. Moksha brings about a cessation of the cycle of births.

7.  This cycle is without a beginning and is the result of latent
impressions left by Karma (both physical aannd mental acts.) performed in
countless previous births.

8. Prakrti and Purushas (countless in number) are respectively the
constituent and efficient causes of the creation.

9. Prakrti and Purusha are non-created entities realities with neither a
beginning nor an end.

10. Ishvara is the eternally free Purusha.

11. He hs nothing to do with the creation of the universe or life.

12. Prajapati or Hiranyagarbha or the Demiurge is the lord of the universe
and the whole universe is being held and sustained by Him.

Jaldhar H. Vyas <jaldhar at braincells.com>
It's a girl! See the pictures - http://www.braincells.com/shailaja/

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list