[Advaita-l] Advaita Bodha Deepika

Sunil Bhattacharjya sunil_bhattacharjya at yahoo.com
Thu May 16 00:35:08 CDT 2013


The first 8 Chapters are possibly as follows:

01.Adhyaropa = Super imposition.
02.Apavada        = Its removal.
03.Sadhana         = The means of accomplishment.
04.Sravana          = Hearing, reading, talking about God.
05.Manana         = Reflecting on sravana.
06.Vasanakshaya = Annihilation of latencies.
07.Sakshatkara = Direct Realisation.
08.Manonasa = Extinction of the mind.

Somewhere there was a mail which says that the last four chapters are as follows:

09. Savikalpa Samadhi =

10. Nirvikalpa Samadhi =

11. Jeevan Mukti =

12.. Videaha Mukti =

Will you have anything to say on this (i.e. on the content on the missing chapters, in case you are aware of that.

Sunil KB

 From: Jaldhar H. Vyas <jaldhar at braincells.com>
To: Advaita-L <advaita-l at lists.advaita-vedanta.org> 
Sent: Wednesday, May 15, 2013 9:26 PM
Subject: [Advaita-l] Advaita Bodha Deepika

Another of the items I am overdue in dealing with is to post the PDF of 
the English translation of this  work very kindly provided by our member 
Shri D.V.N. Sharma.  Shankara Jayanti which was today in the U.S. seems 
like an appropriate time to make it available.

It is an epitome of the teachings of Advaita Vedanta written in Sanskrit 
in 8 chapters.  (Supposedly there were originally 12, but the last 4 are 
not available in print.)  The author is the famous Swami Hariharananda 
Saraswati aka Karpatra Maharaj.  Swami Ramananda Saraswati translated it 
into English.

A notable thing about this work is that it was held in great esteem by 
Shri Ramana Maharshi who normally didn't care for written shastras.

You can download it from our texts page:


or directly at:


Jaldhar H. Vyas <jaldhar at braincells.com>
Archives: http://lists.advaita-vedanta.org/archives/advaita-l/

To unsubscribe or change your options:

For assistance, contact:
listmaster at advaita-vedanta.org

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list