[Advaita-l] Multiple levels of reality.

Jaldhar H. Vyas jaldhar at braincells.com
Sat Feb 18 17:04:33 CST 2012

On Tue, 14 Feb 2012, Srikanta Narayanaswami wrote:

> Regarding the above,it is Jainism which is called the "Nirgrantha"school 
> holds that reality has multiple levels of truth.It is called "anekanta 
> vada"(syad vada) which is also defined as "sapthabhangi naya".

Actually if anything Jainism is even more radical in ontology than 
Bauddhas or Vedantins.  The syAdaVAda (syAt = if 
in Sanskrit) says all these 7 modes exist simultaneously.  Effectively for 
them there is no such thing as truth at all as any attempt to define truth 
is provisional.

Jaldhar H. Vyas <jaldhar at braincells.com>

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list