[Advaita-l] BG 14.27 - saguNa and nirguNa Brahman

Shrinivas Gadkari sgadkari2001 at yahoo.com
Fri Apr 6 06:27:35 CDT 2012


Here is one viewpoint in brief:

Let us consider 36-tattva-s grouped into three, for example, by 
tripura rahasya :

(A) pure tattva-s : these are beyond three guNa-s (bIja avasthA)
(B) pure-impure tattva-s: here guNa-s exist but they are not 
binding (ankura avasathA)
(C) impure tattvas: these are the tattvas we normally hear about 
in sAnkhya (jIva avasthA)

A is the domain of nirguNa brahma.
B is the domain of Ishvara
C is the domain of jIva

In C, three guNa-s are in a state where they bind the jIva (avidyA).
In B, the three guNa-s are present in their non-binding state, 
which is essential for cosmic governance.

The three guNa-s that chapter-14 of gItA is talking about are the 
three guNa-s as they appear in their binding form in group C, 
the jIva avasthA.

It by bhakti of Ishvara, that one goes beyond the binding state 
of the three guNa-s.

Then one becomes fit for graduating to domain B. This graduating 
to state higher than jIva avasthA is termed "becoming brahma" 
in 14.26. Thus, the  term brahma is used in this limited sense 
in 14.27.

Hari om.


More information about the Advaita-l mailing list