Mind and the Intellect (fwd)

H. Balasubramanian balah1 at HOTMAIL.COM
Sat Dec 22 05:36:31 CST 2001

Dear ,
Thuria means fourth.  Normally we have three status. 1. Jakradha = conscious and active.  2. Swapna = dreaming in sleep.  3. Sushupti = deep sleep without dreams. This is normal human life.  After Gnana Vichara you go to a stage where you are conscious but like in deep sleep unconscious of your environment.  This is the fourth stage.  In tamizh they may say “thoongamal thoongi” (sleeping without sleep).  Great Tamil scholar Marai Malai Adigal termed it “vizhi nithrai”
With best wishes,
>From India

----- Original Message -----
From: Vivek Anand Ganesan
Sent: 21 December 2001 05:34
Subject: Re: Mind and the Intellect (fwd)

Hello ShrI Jaladhar and others,

Isn't nirvikalpa samadhi the same as turiya i.e. samadhi
can only be attained in the turiya state.  If that is the
case then nirvikalpa samAdhi = turIya = jnAna, No?  What
is the difference?


Do You Yahoo!?
Check out Yahoo! Shopping and Yahoo! Auctions for all of
your unique holiday gifts! Buy at http://shopping.yahoo.com
or bid at http://auctions.yahoo.comGet more from the Web.  FREE MSN Explorer download : http://explorer.msn.com
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: </archives/advaita-l/attachments/20011222/37905877/attachment.html>

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list