[Advaita-l] ***UNCHECKED*** Re: Meditation: eyes open or eyes closes or either

Sanju Nath sanjivendra at gmail.com
Thu Jul 2 08:28:57 CDT 2015

नमस्ते श्रीरामजी,

Thank you for this detailed explanation.  I will have to do some मननम् to even scratch the surface of this विद्या।  

One confusion from a मन्दबुद्धी:  when you say in initial stage we should concentrate on the नासाग्र, it is not literally with the eye but with the mind, while the eyes are open looking down on the floor, and the outline of the nose is seen but not focussed on.  Because directly focussing on the nose is hard on the eyes, and distracts from the mind concentration part.

This much seems clear: do not close the eye during meditation per the given राज योग विद्या and chapter 6 verse by भगवान।


> On Jul 2, 2015, at 7:45 AM, Venkata sriram P via Advaita-l <advaita-l at lists.advaita-vedanta.org> wrote:
> Namaste,
> The place of concentration (dhAraNa sthAna) should be nAsAgra ie., tip of the nose.  
> As one proceeds ahead with this practice of meditation, a luminous light starts 
> appearing there at the tip of the nose.  The colour appears in 5 different hues 
> which represent pancha-bhUtAs.  The  5 different colours are exactly those 
> that are depicted in 5 faces of gAyatri.  This is mentioned in the maNDal brAhmaNa vidya 
> which is out of the scope to discuss here.
> Now, as one practices the dhAraNa of jyOti at the tip of the nose, the 
> sight of the practitioner takes 3 different aspects (tad darshaNE trisrO druSTayaH)
> viz., "amA pratipatpUrNimA chEti". 
> The order is given below (as per the rAja yOga vidya):
> 1) pUrNima = Full Moon
> 2) pratipad = 1st day of the fortnight 
> 3) amA = amAvAsya or New Moon
> These three sights describe the 3 stages of the sAdhana of jyOtirvidya. 
> The stages from pUrNima to amA is the practice adopted where the sight 
> advances from macro to micro ie., sthUla to sUkshma.  
> 1) pUrNima = the dhyAna is done by gazing at the tip of the nose 
> with eyes "full open" (sarvOnmeelanaM pUrNimA bhavati)
> 2) pratipad = the dhyAna is done by gazing at the tip of the nose with eyes "half closed" (ardhOnmeelitaM pratipad)
> 3) amA = the dhyAna is done by closing the eyes and the gaze should be 
> fixed internally (nimilita darshaNaM amA druSTiH)
> When the meditation reaches this stage of "amA" sthithi, the jyOti (luminous light) 
> can seen inside one's heart which is visualized as 8-petalled lotus.  
> Amidst the hrudaya-padma, the centre of the bulb, this divine light is seen 
> which is called "mUrta-tAraka".   
> The tAraka vidya is of two types viz., mUrta tAraka and a-mUrta tAraka.  
> In the former one, the Soul or the Atma is felt and also can be seen in the
> form of Divine Light.  With the help of this mUrta-tAraka vidya, the 
> nArAyaNa is seen inside the heart as mentioned in nArAyaNa sUktam 
> as "nIlatOyada madhyasthA ......bhAsvarA / nIvAra shUka vattanvI 
> pItAbhAsvat .......tasyAH shikhAyAH madhyE paramAtma vyvasthitaH......).  
> The later one ie., a-mUrta tAraka siddhi is achieved when the 
> manas (mind) of the yOgi units, merges, dissolves in that 
> mUrta-tAraka brahman which is of the form of jyOti inside us.  
> When this a-mUrta siddhi is achieved, which is also called 
> a-manaska siddhi, the yOgi become jIvanmukta.
> This is the rahasya of tAraka rAja yOga vidya.
> Regs,
> Sriram
> _______________________________________________
> Archives: http://lists.advaita-vedanta.org/archives/advaita-l/
> http://blog.gmane.org/gmane.culture.religion.advaita
> To unsubscribe or change your options:
> http://lists.advaita-vedanta.org/cgi-bin/listinfo/advaita-l
> For assistance, contact:
> listmaster at advaita-vedanta.org

More information about the Advaita-l mailing list